Surrounded by farmland and forests, the capital city of Australia has gained the nickname “Bush Capital.” Similarly to the American Washington D.C., Canberra is an entirely planned city to represent the country, and since 1913 it has been known as Australia`s s official capital, also called ACT – the Australian Capital Territory.

The ACT is stretching across the ancient land of the indigenous Ngunnawal people, and its name can be translated as a “meeting place.” Unlike any other place in Australia, the city enjoys four distinct seasons; the residents love their hot and dry summers, frosty winter months, abundant rainfall during spring and gorgeous autumn colours.

Encircled by the New South Wales, the capital territory of the Commonwealth of Australia is the smallest self-governing internal territory. Canberra was declared to be the National Capital in 1913, and since then its placid town has been attracting visitors with its historical landmarks, museums, and galleries and international embassies.

To the south of Canberra`s border are defined by often snowy slopes of the Brindabella Ranges and mighty Naas and Murrumbidgee Rivers while on the other side picturesque vineyards and small family-run boutique wineries have been growing grapes here since the 1800s.

Canberra is the only Australian capital city which does not lie on the coast. However, the sugar-white sands and emerald waters of Jervis Bay can be reached within a few hours. Those craving for some vibe and nightlife will get to Sydney in just an hour via air. What thrills much more, however, is the close distance of the Snowy Mountains and their world-famous eminence – Mount Kosciuszko.

Stay Updated!

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter...

Subscribe to our email newsletter to receive useful articles and special offers. This monthly email is sent out on the first of every month.